Connecting Your Tesla Account
To allow Teslascope to request information about your vehicle, it must generate tokens using your account's credentials. Once this occurs, all credentials are immediately discarded.
We obtain an "access token" in addition to a "refresh token", which is used for making all future requests. When thirty days have passed, we use the refresh token to request for a new access token, allowing us to provide our members with continuous and uninterrupted service.
Absolutely! We include an option for providing your own tokens as an alternative to connecting with your Tesla.com account.
For more information in addition to instructions, please view this help page.
You can disconnect your account and remove its stored encrypted tokens via the Tesla Account page at any time. Please note, all vehicles under the account will have Quiet Mode enabled as vehicle data requests will no longer succeed without these tokens.
Teslascope takes advantage of Amazon's AWS (Amazon Web Services) platform to allow us to securely manage our services. We use the following to accomplish this:
- Requiring all employees to use two-factor authentication. Read more.
- Implementing Amazon's "Inspector", which scans ours network to identify vulnerabilities, exploits, as well as ensuring we maintain best practices. Read more.
- Storing all of Teslascope's data in RDS / Aurora. Read more.
Additionally, Teslascope uses Cloudflare's various tools to provide a more efficient and safe experience for all visitors and our members.
We ensure that all potentially sensitive data is only accessible by the intended vehicle owner and protect against other malicious access attempts.
While we'd be sad to see you go, you may deactivate your account at any time via Account Settings.
You must restore your account within thirty days to prevent it from becoming locked.
Data cannot be restored once locked and an option to permanently delete your account and its associated data is given. You may also request immediate deletion of your account and its associated data via email (see sidebar) once deactivated.